Friday, September 14, 2012

NFC Commends National Honours for Teco Benson and Peace Anyiam-Osigwe

Peace Anyiam-Osigwe.

Press Release

National Honours Award To Teco,Peace,Others...
Excites Nigerian Film Corporation

The Nigerian Film Corporation (NFC) is excited about the Member of the Order of the Federal Republic (MFR) award to two Nigerian motion picture practitioners by the President and Commander-in-Chief, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (GCFR). They are Teco Benson and Peace Anyiam-Osigwe.

Teco Benson.

Reacting to a release on Monday September 10, 2012 by the Federal Government, the NFC was elated that Senators Ayogu Eze and Zainab Kure who bagged the Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON), and Ambassador S.O. Willoughby, Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON), respectively, made the list.

In a statement, Afolabi Adesanya, Managing Director/Chief Executive of the apex film agency, the NFC, said, ‘’again the industry is being recognised for her tremendous contributions to the development of the Creative Arts economy of Nigeria’’. The motion picture industry, he said, has also boosted the profile of Nigeria within the comity of nations, describing the recognition as not only apt, but encouraging.

Teco Benson and Peace Anyiam-Osigwe bagged the Member of the Order of the Federal Republic (MFR) award.

The Nigerian Film Corporation, and indeed Nigeria’s motion picture professionals, Adesanya further said, are challenged by these recognitions, for according to him, “it takes contributions of both the private sector and government to ensure sustainable growth within the film sector”.

Teco Benson, an actor, producer and director launched into movie making in 1994. To his credit include, Suicide Mission, Scores to Settle, State of Emergency, Mission to Nowhere, The Senator and many more.

Peace Anyiam- Osigwe, known as Industry Energizer, has been promoting the Nigerian and by extension the African Cinema through her pet projects, Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) and African Film Academy (AFA). To her credit include; Blind Date, Sons of Thunder, Messenger of Doom, and The Preachers Daughter and Laviva.

Ayogu Eze (CON), a Senator of the Federal Republic since 1999, was a one time Special Adviser and later, Special Assistant to the Governor of Enugu State. He was Commissioner of Information, Enugu State. He has also served on the Senate Committees on Police Affairs, National Planning, Federal Character & Inter-Government Affairs and later as Chairman, Senate Committee on Information.

Senator Zainab Kure (CON) was the former First Lady of Niger State.(1999-2007). During her tenure she brought succour and comfort to the youths and women of Niger State through her pet project- the Youth Empowerment Scheme (YES). The YES project elevated the economic status of youths and women of Niger State, including vulnerable children who needed attention and empowerment. At the National Assembly, her sustained support for legislations on economic empowerment and poverty alleviation programmes is second to none. Senator Kure’s impact is already being felt within the Nigerian motion picture sector with her membership of the Senate Committee on Information.

Senators Eze and Kure, as members of the Senate Committee on Information, have leveraged their positions to provide invaluable support for the continual growth of the Nigerian motion picture sector.

Ambassador S.O. Willoughby’s (OON) input, as Deputy Chief Executive Officer, NEPAD, towards the development of Nigeria’s roads, telecommunications and trans-border cooperation’s among African countries is worthy of note. The Nigerian motion picture industry, no doubt benefitted immensely from Ambassador Willoughby wealth of experience during his tenure as the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Information.

No comments: